24.1 C
New Delhi
Friday, September 29, 2023
HomeNewsIndia hosts 18th G20 Summit in Delhi: Here's what's on agenda

India hosts 18th G20 Summit in Delhi: Here’s what’s on agenda

As New Delhi gears up to host the 18th G20 Summit, a significant gathering of global leaders, it is imperative to delve into what’s on the agenda.

More than 30 heads of state and other top officials from the European Union are also set to attend the summit alongside several other delegates from invited guest countries. The summit will also be attended by 14 heads of international organisations.

India plays host to the G20 Leader’s Summit at the newly inaugurated Bharat Mandapam on September 9-10.

The summit’s proceedings will kick off with the arrival of world leaders at Bharat Mandapam, commencing at 9:30 AM.

At approximately 10:30 AM, the first session of the G20 Summit, themed ‘One Earth,’ will unfold. This session will primarily revolve around accelerating climate action, emphasizing increased mitigation efforts, and bolstering the global net-zero emission agenda.

Noteworthy is the theme for this year’s G20 Summit under India’s presidency, “Vasudhaiva Kutumbakam” or “One Earth · One Family · One Future.” This theme draws inspiration from the ancient Sanskrit text of the Maha Upanishad, affirming the value of all life forms and their interconnectedness on Earth and in the universe.Following the ‘One Earth’ session and lunch, another session titled ‘One Family’ is scheduled for 3:00 PM as part of the Summit’s agenda.In the evening at 7:00 PM, President Droupadi Murmu of India will host a dinner, attended by foreign delegates, parliamentarians, ministers, and former senior leaders of the nation.

Some of the key leader attending the G20 Summit in Delhi include, US President Joe Biden, British Prime Minister Rishi Sunak, Saudi Crown Prince Mohammed Bin Salman, Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau, and Japanese Prime Minister Fumio Kishida, will be present at this prominent event in India’s capital.

But Chinese President Xi Jinping and Russian President Vladimir Putin will not be in attendance, rather China will be represented by Chinese Premier Li Qiang, and Russia will be represented by Russian Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov

This marks the first time India is hosting the G20 Summit, and extensive preparations have been underway to showcase India’s tradition and strength.

India’s objectives for the summit include adding the African Union as a G20 member and addressing disagreements regarding a joint statement related to the Ukraine conflict.

Throughout its presidency, India has focused on various critical issues such as inclusive growth, digital innovation, climate resilience, and equitable global health access. By leveraging its presidency, India seeks to foster collaborative solutions that benefit its population and contribute to global well-being.

Nigeria, Argentina, Italy, Mauritius, the European Union, South Africa, Bangladesh, Japan, Saudi Arabia, the Republic of Korea, Egypt, Australia, the United States, Canada, China, the United Arab Emirates, Brazil, Indonesia, Turkey, Spain, Germany, France, the African Union (represented by Comros), and Singapore are among the nations taking part in the G20 Summit.

Leaders were cordially welcomed when they arrived in Delhi for the G20 Summit, which starts on Saturday. The assembly of international leaders, according to Prime Minister Narendra Modi, will forge new ground for inclusive and human-centered growth.

US President Joe Biden, UK Prime Minister Rishi Sunak, Bangladesh Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, Italian Prime Minister Giorgia Meloni, Argentinean President Alberto Fernandez, and Japanese Prime Minister Fumio Kishida are among the leaders who have already arrived.

Traditional dance performances greeted the arriving leaders, creating a warm and welcoming atmosphere.

South African President Cyril Ramaphosa, who hosted the BRICS summit last month, also arrived in India.

Other leaders landing in the national capital include Chinese Premier Li Qiang, UN Secretary-General Antonio Guterres, Oman Deputy Prime Minister Asaad bin Tariq bin Taimur, Russian Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov, South Korean President Yoon Suk Yeol, Egypt President El-Sisi, UAE President Mohammed bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Australian Prime Minister Anthony Albanese, Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau, Turkiye President Recep Tayyip Erdogan, Indonesian President Joko Widodo, Singapore Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, and Brazil President Luiz Inacio Lula da Silva.

African Union Chairperson Azali Assoumani, United Nations Secretary-General Antonio Guterres, Argentina President Alberto Angel Fernandez, International Monetary Fund (IMF) Managing Director Kristalina Georgieva, Mauritius Prime Minister Pravind Kumar Jugnauth, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Secretary-General Mathias Cormann, World Trade Organisation (WTO) Director-General Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, and European Commission President Ursula von der Leyen have also arrived in Delhi for the summit.

(With inputs from ANI)

Source link

- Advertisment -


Our Archieves