17.1 C
New Delhi
Tuesday, January 31, 2023
HomeNewsCentre approves UP govt's proposal to change names of two places in...

Centre approves UP govt’s proposal to change names of two places in Gorakhpur and Deoria districts

The Centre has approved Yogi Adityanath’s government proposal to change the name of two places in Gorakhpur and Deoria district. The union home ministry issued no objection certificate (NOC) for change in the name of nagar panchayat ‘Mundera Baazar’ as ‘Chauri-Chaura’ in Gorakhpur and village ‘Telia Afghan’ as ‘Telia Shukla‘ in Deoria of Uttar Pradesh, said officials.

The state government had made the proposal following demands from the locals who wanted to name the panchayat after the Chauri Chaura incident of February, 1922 when police forces under British regime fired upon a group of protesters participating in the non-cooperation movement. The relataliation by an angry mob later led to the death of police personnel and an attack on the police station.

According to officials, the proposal was first mooted by the UP government last year. More than 100 years after the incident, there was demand from this locality to change the name of this place as a mark of respect to those who were killed. As per the government guidelines for renaming villages, railway stations, towns or cities, states must get a no-objection certificate (NOC) from the union home ministry.

“The NOC is issued after seeking reports from field units of the Geographical Survey of India (GSI), Department of Post and the Ministry of Earth Sciences,” said a home ministry official.The second village named as ‘Telia Afghan’ in revenue records but using ‘Telia Shukla” by locals for other purposes including postal delivery.
In the last five years, the home ministry has approved seven proposals to rename cities and towns. These included renaming of Uttar Pradesh’s Allahabad, which was granted an NOC on December 15, 2018, to change its name to Prayagraj. The ministry had earlier approved the renaming of the British-era Robertsgang railway station as Sonbhadra. The Farah Town railway station near Mathura and the iconic Mughalsarai junction were renamed after Pandit Deendayal Upadhyay, the founder of Bhartiya Jana Sangh.

While the renaming of a state requires amendment of the Constitution with a simple majority in Parliament, the name of a village or town can be amended through an executive order. The Mamata Banerjee government’s proposal to change the name of West Bengal to ‘Bangla’ is stuck, as the proposed name sounded similar to the name of the neighbouring country Bangladesh, said an official.

Source link

- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -

Our Archieves

- Advertisment -

Please disable your adblocker or whitelist this site!